Nationals from Ecuador, Colombia and Dominic Republic require visa to enter Costa Rica.

As requested by the national tourism office, authorities have lifted this requirement for these nationalities during cruise season because of the increase of people coming in that situation. The conditions for the visa waiver are:

  • Entry to Costa Rica must be by cruise.
  • Purpose of the visit is tourism linked to the cruise.
  • Visit must be less than 12 hours.
  • Costa Rica can´t be the final destination or transit to get out.

The cruise season is from October 2022 to June 2023, in both coasts.